Any lewd or sexual contact with a minor under the age of 14 could leave you vulnerable to child molestation charges. The penalty for such crimes can be very serious. In recent years it has become common for sentences of up to 25 years or more to be levied against those found guilty under Section 288.7 of the California Penal Code.
However, not all is lost if you are accused of such a crime. In fact, you may be able to mount an effective defense. The truth is that sometimes children are influenced to say things that aren’t true, or accusations can be levied due to personal animosity. It is not uncommon for ex-lovers to ask kids to make things up, for example. Or kids can let their imaginations get the better of them, or use allegations as a cry for help or attention.
If you ever think that you may be subject to allegations of child abuse or molestation, call us right away. We will quickly investigate the situation and strategize to get the best possible outcome for you while also protecting your rights at every step.
Child Molestation Statute of Limitations
Many times, charges of child molestation are made years after the alleged incidents occur. An adult is having difficulties with their lives, and then remember that they were molested as a child, which may explain their troubles to them. Under certain situations, the statute of limitations will not apply to a molestation allegation. Do not take chances. Contact Lamano Law Office immediately for help if you are being accused of molestation, even if the charge is from decades ago.
Contacted by the Accuser
Many people get caught in a trap when they are contacted by someone from their past who asks them to apologize for something they did. Oftentimes it’s confusing, or the situation is kept perfectly vague, and the accused will say sorry without really knowing what they are supposed to have done. In some cases, the call may be recorded or was made from the police station. If you get such a call, whether you admitted or apologized for anything or not, call us right away for help.
Accuser Between Ages 14 and 17
When the minor is between the ages of 14 to 17, the situation can be a little more complicated. In many cases, any sexual activity may be consensual. This is still a criminal act and can have increased penalties if the perpetrator is at least 3 years older than the victim. However, the perpetrator may not necessarily have to register as a sex-offender in these cases. Make sure you contact Lamano Law Office to examine your case and do the work to keep you off of the sex registration list.
Discussing with Your Therapist
If you are undergoing therapy, then you definitely want to be as open and honest with them as possible. However, if you make an admission about potential sexual molestation, then your therapist may be legally required to contact the police. Make sure that you talk with us before you discuss certain situations with your therapist. We can help you avoid getting a surprise visit from the police when you thought your conversations were confidential and they really weren’t.
Publication of Your Personal Information and Photos
When you are convicted of a sexual crime in California, there’s a good chance that your personal information, such as name, address, and photo, will be published online. The idea is to protect the public, but in reality, it puts people in danger. The lawmakers lump everyone together, whether they are confirmed multiple-offender pedophiles or those who had sex as a teen with another teen. We will do everything we can to make sure that your information is kept private and you and your family are kept safe.
Sex Offender Registration for Child Molestation Cases
If you are convicted as a sex offender, then you will be required to register as one under Penal Code 290 of the state of California. This means that every year, you will have to report to your assigned police station, and also report to the police station of any new city or town to which you move. Registration can ruin a person’s life and make it harder to do things like get a job, go back to school, or even just live safely.
In some cases, it may be possible to overturn an order to register. For instance, if you pleaded guilty, you may not have gotten all of the information you needed to make an informed decision. Or you may be able to file a certificate of rehabilitation or have your attorneys file a motion to vacate your plea.
No matter what, your best option is always to contact an attorney for help with your case. The experts at Lamano Law Office will examine every aspect of the circumstances around your situation and come up with options for you. We will do whatever it takes to keep you out of jail and off of the sex offender registry so that you can move on with your life.
Our law firm has offices near the Santa Rita jail in Dublin and across the street from Glenn Dyer Jail in Oakland, California, and we specialize in criminal defense. Our attorneys understand the complexity of child molestation cases in California and have decades of experience helping people like you get the justice they deserve. We will do our best to make sure your story is heard and your rights are protected. Contact us today for a free consultation.